Frank W. “Bo” Rogers, Jr., Lifetime Achievement Award

Frank W. “Bo” Rogers, Jr., was a member of the first family of the Roanoke Bar Association.  His father, Frank W. Rogers, Sr., signed the articles of incorporation of the RBA in 1925 and served as the Association’s second president.

Mr. Rogers practiced law in Roanoke for over 50 years.  Before his passing in 2005, he gave his time and considerable expertise to numerous civic organizations, serving as president of the Roanoke Bar Association and as a member of the boards of Hollins University, Episcopal High School, the YMCA, the Roanoke Symphony Society, and the Virginia Historical Society.  The memorial resolution passed by the General Assembly noted that he had an extraordinary zest for life, a remarkable gift for instantly making everyone he met feel at ease, and will be fondly remembered for his immense generosity and kindness.

The Frank W. “Bo” Rogers, Jr., Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an outstanding lawyer who embodies the highest tradition of personal and professional excellence in Southwest Virginia and, in doing so, enhances the image and esteem of attorneys in the region.


Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients
2023 Maryellen F. Goodlatte
2022 Ronald M. Ayers
2021 George I. Vogel, II
2020 G. Michael Pace, Jr.
2019 Jennie L. M. Waering
2018 J. Rudy Austin
2017 Claude D. Carter
2016 S. D. Roberts Moore
2015  William J. Lemon
2014 G. Marshall Mundy
2013 Richard C. Rakes
2012 George W. Wooten
2011 Henry L. Woodward
2010 William R. Rakes
2009 Robert E. Glenn
2008 William B. Poff
2007 William B. Hopkins, Sr.
2006 T. L. Plunkett, Jr.

Lifetime Achievement Award Qualifications 2024